Some Patchwork & Quilting Items

A4 quilted bag using foundation pieced plait design

Like so many sewers I am fabric obsessed and as such have a stash of fabric lengths and fat quarter bundles that gets drooled over frequently but doesn’t dwindle.

*Fat Quarter – imagine a full yard/metre of fabric folded in half and half again then cut into these 4 pieces = 4 fat quarters. A normal quarter metre would be 25cm x full width of fabric.

Last summer I decided to address this and used some Amazon vouchers to purchase a wonderful book – Fabulous Fat Quarter Bags by Susan Briscoe ISBN 13-978-0-7153-2978-8.

All the bags use patchwork piecing, so some new techniques for me, and each project starts with the number of fat quarters required so you can immediately decide if you have enough fabric in your stash; brilliant!

Back of quilted bag showing 3 plait strips

The first project that appealed to me was a bag made from foundation pieced plait strips. No complicated cutting required just 2”/5cm wide strips of three different fabrics; the pattern is drawn directly onto the calico used as a foundation and the piece is quilted as you go, easy!

I just wanted to try out this technique so rather than complete the laptop bag project in the book I made this simple pouch. I pieced 3 strips then joined them together using narrow strips of fabric, I added a lining using one of the fabrics used in the piecing and this was then folded into this simple pouch shape, I added a small gusset and bound all the edges using a home made bias binding then added snap fasteners to close.

Pouch Inside

I had some small scraps of these fabrics left over so I made a couple of simple needle cases.

Quilted needle case

Inside of quilted needle case

.

Whilst in the mood to use up some of my fat quarter collection I made a pair of slippers and these 4 little bags with a wrap closure.

Fat quarter slippers

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The purple wrap matches the purple fabric used to line these bags which are based on a simple folded square bag – a first tutorial perhaps?

Please share your comments

