A mixed bag

Embroidered felt flower brooches

I’ve been out of action a bit this week due to twisting and straining my knee so I have a mixed bunch of items to share.

I haven’t been able to work at my sewing machine so after a couple more felt embroidered flowers I decided to dip into my box of unfinished bits and pieces and my dyed fabrics and threads.

Since I’ve had limited mobility and had to rest my leg for a couple of days I took advantage of this time to catch up on a couple of DVDs that proved to be very inspiring. “Color by Accident : Exploring Low-Water Immersion Dyeing” with Ann Johnston: http://www.rainbowsilks.co.uk/ProductDetails.cfm?SubCatId=1019&Code=DVDAJ    and “In Stitches” with Jan Beaney and Jean Littlejohn:                                    http://doubletrouble-ent.com/dvds/                                                                                                                                                     Ann Johnston gives extremely clear instructions for this low water immersion technique and her fabric samples are stunning, I can’t wait to have a go but in the meantime the “In Stitches” dvd has inspired some embroidery.

Embroidered sample inspired by Jan Beaney & Jean Littlejohn

In their dvd Jan & Jean really exploit each individual stitch using weight of thread, layering and wrapping to produce beautifully textured work.

I worked this sample only in twisted chain stitch on a ground of procion dyed cotton fabric layered with procion dyed cotton scrim. I used various weights of my own procion dyed threads and yarns then added some wrapped areas and a little beading.

 

I love the texture on this sample, it will be interesting to push this technique further.

 

Crazy patchwork, foundation pieced with added stitching

After trying out the braided foundation piecing shown previously I had lots of fabric off cuts and decided to combine these with other fabric remnants to try out some random foundation piecing. I had abandoned this piece but it might be nice with some added stitching so I’ve made a start on this. I’m keeping the stitching quite subtle and using threads that tone with the fabrics at the moment but I might not stick with this plan! GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Bookbinding

I plan to make some stitched book covers when time allows so I have spent some time this week making up signatures ready for stitching and binding.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I plan to put these signatures together to make up little sketchbooks containing various weights and textures of paper for use with different media.

 

 

 

Handmade signatures ready to be made into books

http://khadi.com/ – this website was a great recent discovery; they have some wonderful handmade papers in  a whole variety of weights that are suitable for many different uses.

Time to get stitching!   

                                  

Please share your comments

