Exercising the little grey cells!

My attention has been diverted from sewing a little these past two weeks as I signed up for a couple of courses with https://www.futurelearn.com/ I’m currently taking ‘Shakespeare and his world’ with Professor Jonathan Bate of the University of Warwickshire. This is a fascinating course that combines looking at items in the collection of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust with studying some of the plays in order to have a better understanding of the cultural background and influences on his work.

I’ve also signed up for a course with Professor Peter Stockwell of the University of Nottingham called ‘How to read….a mind’, this introduces cognitive poetics, the application of cognitive science to literary reading. Something different to stretch the mind!

I’ve been getting a bit bogged down with trying to come up with new designs and trying to decide on a piece for the Embroiderer’s Guild exhibition in the summer so I needed to take a break. I haven’t abandoned sewing completely, I’ve been working on some purse ideas and making up some samples. Planning the dimensions and working out pattern pieces is a time consuming process! I know that there are plenty of tutorials and patterns online but I really want to create something that is all my own work.

This is my latest sample, made with some lovely fat qGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAuarters purchased in New York a few years ago. I made the bias binding from a fabric covered in yellow taxis that I think coordinates well with the underground map fabric.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAThe purse has a zipped coin section, a notes section, two card slots and space for receipts etc.

 

I need to make some adjustments such as adding a gusset into the sides as it is a little tight.

 

 

 

Edinburgh Branch Embroiderer’s Guild 60th Anniversary Celebrations

The exhibition in the summer will be a great opportunity for fund raising so members are GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAmaking stitched cards that will be for sale; I thought it would be nice to stitch some ‘sampler’ cards.

The cards are A6 size so the hand stitched panels are easily manageable over a couple of evenings.

 

Hope to have done a bit more stitching for next time! Smiley Face

 

Please share your comments

