Fabric Crazy

Whew what a productive week it has been.

Block printed fabric samples

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a small stash of procion dyed fabrics that I decided to decorate with some wooden block printing.

Some of them have been printed using a ‘tone on tone’ effect which hasn’t photographed particularly well; the strip of lime green fabric in the middle of the picture has lovely little leaves all over.

The red fabric on the left of the picture was decorated using a comb dipped in the paint and pulled randomly across the fabric.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

These next few fabrics were printed with individual motifs so that they can be cut out and used as single prints.

The first two samples were done with Stewart Gill glitter paints through stencils. I love Stewart Gill fabric paints, they’re made here in Scotland and come in such a variety of colours and finishes. The website is here: http://www.stewartgill.com/ it is well worth a look.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

All these samples have been produced with fabric paints that have been iron set once dry, this way any finished items can be washed. If you’re not planning to wash the item there is no need to use fabric paint, acrylic paint works well on fabric too.

Addicted to Pinterest!

I don’t know about you but I can’t get enough of Pinterest! This week I have become obsessed with crazy quilting, there are so many beautiful examples to be seen. Crazy quilting starts with a randomly pieced block which is then embellished with stitching, applique, beading, whatever you like really.

I like to have small hand embroidery projects on the go that I can pick up and work on in front of the television or to take on holiday and I thought this would be ideal. So here are my crazy patches ready for embellishment.

I really like the fact that these patches can be foundation pieced so quickly. There is no need for the fabric to be cut to specific sizes so it’s great for using up scraps.

See my tutorial page for how to make up these freeform patches.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 Keep checking back to see how these progress.

I’ve still been working on my mini stitched sampler cards for Embroiderer’s Guild and completed another two, I forgot to photograph them though!

The second of the Future Learn courses I signed up for has started so I’m now studying Shakespeare and cognitive poetics concurrently; both fascinating courses, totally absorbing and FREE!

Enough for now I think except to say well done to Edinburgh Young Embroiderers who have just won second place in the annual De Denne competition and may have their entry included in the Embroiderer’s Guild Collection. Excellent work everyone.

Please share your comments

