This year I will be Gelli printing!

8x10_plate_final_largeHave you checked out the GelliArts website & blog? http://www.gelliarts.com/

I really enjoyed mono printing when I was doing the City & Guilds course and have been coveting the Gelli plates for some time! Imagine my excitement on receiving a 10×8 plate for Christmas, I couldn’t wait to get started!

 

I’m very out of practice and my samples are a bit hit and miss but it’s important to make mistakes, how else can we learn! 😉 So, that said, here are my first Gelli prints.

Most of these samples have 2 or 3 layers, this gives good dimension with details showing through from the lower layers. Some will work better cut into smaller sections perhaps as backgrounds for collage or for making books.

I think some more practice is needed before moving on to printing on fabric, I also plan to make some samples using fabric transfer paints, this could produce some interesting results.

An added bonus when Gelli printing is to roll off excess paint from the brayer to sketchbook pages where layers can continue to be built up producing backgrounds.

Gelli Sketchbook

My brayer clearly has bubbles in the centre that create the bear patches that can be seen on these pages, I quite like this effect.

I’m pleased with the results obtained with little to no planning and using only items to hand to create textures. This is a quick and fun method of printing with great scope for good results.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please share your comments

