Something went wrong with blog post!

I don’t know quite what happened but something went wrong with some of the images in my previous post and in trying to fix the problem I inadvertently deleted the post!!

So here is a recap of my projects over the past few months; I attended a silk paper making workshop with the local embroiderer’s Guild where we made sheets of paper and molded vessels – I made my sheets up into little concertina books and attached leaf motifs also made with the silk fibres, these are so detailed.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I dried my vessel upside down with all the excess bunched up into little folds to achieve this frilled edge.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I used dried daisy heads in the undyed sheet and covered a little box with some of it.

 

I was delighted this summer to be invited to join a group of ladies from Edinburgh Embroiderer’s Guild for a weekly stitching group, I thought this would be a valuable opportunity to plan and work on specific projects but have to say that so far I haven’t been very organised just working mostly on random items including this piece using procion dyed silk viscose velvet that has been gathered and stitched to a ground of calico fabric, I added borders of seed and bugle beads.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I plan to be a lot more organised this year and will try to have some structure to what I am working on, we’ll see how that goes!

Eventually I got around to making Christmas gifts and surprised myself with how much a achieved. Some months ago I purchased a couple of ‘Mr. Chillingsworth’ panels one of andover_chillingsworth_skeleton_panelwhich I made into a quilt for my daughter. I ran into some problems despite having spent several hours working out the maths to give me the number of blocks needed so I ended up having to insert the pieces on the sides, not ideal but for my first attempt at such a large quilt I’m quite pleased with the result and will certainly learn from my mistakes!

I really enjoyed making this quilt and will definitely plan another soon.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

This is the quilt hanging on the line before being layered and stitched. Below is the finished quilt  – my daughter was delighted with it so it was well worth the effort.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I also made patchwork cushions for my sister in law using coordinating fabrics in 4 different designs.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

My final Christmas project was a foundation pieced stocking for my daughter’s friend, I altered the foot slightly to give a quirky elf like pointed toe rather than the usual rounded toe.

Stocking Stocking 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think I will have to plan early for next Christmas as I thoroughly enjoyed making these gifts. What projects did you work on for this holiday period? Do you have any major projects planned for the New Year?

One thought on “Something went wrong with blog post!

Please share your comments

