Take A Stitch Tuesday & Not a stitch sampler then!

Take A Stitch Tuesday

Some time ago a friend was working on a wonderful crazy quilt sample that she was doing as an online class with Sharon B; this was my introduction to Pintangle. Sharon’s blog is dedicated to hand embroidery and crazy quilting with lots of patterns, tutorials and templates and the very popular TAST – Take a Stitch Tuesday.

Back by popular demand, I decided to to join in with this latest TAST challenge which is to produce and share a sample using the stitch of the week with a new stitch given, as the name suggests, every Tuesday. I thought this challenge might prove a distraction from/inspiration for my torn fabric strip sample!

Week 1: Fly Stitch

Fly_Stitch

Week 2: Buttonhole Stitch

Buttonhole_Stitch

I already had these strips of calico backed with wadding so thought I would work as many varieties of the stitch on each one to eventually make up as a stitched sample book. Others are embellishing patterned fabrics or producing pictures and fabric books, there is such a variety and it’s lovely to see everyone’s ideas and beautiful embroidery.

I don’t think it is too late to join the challenge……………

Not a stitch sampler then!

I eventually decided to add some more torn strips to my sample, sticking with running stitch to attach them.

Torn Strip Sampler

Think I need to trim some from the 2 attached at the top that have long expanses of yellow & purple – they unbalance everything.

I have some thick threads that I dyed at the same time as these fabrics so I’m thinking I might couch some down, just need to think about the design. I also like the idea of adding some shisha mirrors – just because I love stitching them!

Any other ideas would be very welcome.

One thought on “Take A Stitch Tuesday & Not a stitch sampler then!

  1. Pingback: Colour, colour everywhere! | Stitched Notions

Please share your comments

