Take A Stitch Tuesday 2015, Week 3

Okay so I know it’s Monday but I’m just getting around to posting last weeks TAST stitch sample – Feather Stitch.

TAST 2015 Week 3, Feather Stitch

The unusual looking light green sample is Spanish knotted feather stitch, this is a completely new variation of the stitch to me, to the right, just above the 2 coloured sample, is a closed version of this stitch – it’s like a heavy braid and looks quite different to the open version.

I’ve been stitching these samples in a quite formal way, using an air erasable pen to draw lines to keep my stitches neat and even as this will give me a good reference to look back on. The lovely stitched samples being posted have inspired me to think of a more decorative way to display my stitches though.

As someone who is uncomfortable with drawing/sketching I have occasionally been practicing Zentangle patterns and this seemed a good way to utilise many different stitches on one piece of work. I’ve started by creating a pattern to work to –

Stitch Tangle Design

Stitch Tangle Design

The design is 60cm square so plenty of room for lots of stitches! The fabric is a lovely heavy calico donated by my sister in law, I haven’t backed it but it is almost a canvas weight so should stand up to some dense stitching.

I hope to have made a good start on this by the time this weeks sample is complete, wonder what the new stitch will be?

Please share your comments

