Colour, colour everywhere!

I think Summer is passing us by here in Edinburgh, it’s been mostly wet and cold – we even switched our heating on – IN JULY!!!!!

Frustration with the weather has spilled over to my torn strip sample, it isn’t really going anywhere! Since last time I have worked on the areas that didn’t feel right and added some more strips.

Torn strip sample

Torn strip sample

It is interesting how looking at a photograph helps me to see things I don’t notice looking directly at the sample – the yellow strip on this bottom left layer needs to be trimmed back.

Where now though? These are the ideas I’ve had going around in my head:

  • I’ve been playing around with some ideas in Photoshop using circles and squares/rectangles, the idea being that these would be stitched in heavier threads using a solid line – back stitch most likely.
  • Another thought I had was to take a variegated thread and stitch loads more horizontal lines of running stitch over the whole thing.
  • Shisha mirrors! As I’ve said before I love stitching Shisha mirrors, is there room for some here?
  • Maybe I should just cut the whole thing up and use strips of it elsewhere!

All that colour has me a little uncomfortable, I tried converting the image to black & white and have to say the tones looked okay. I keep thinking that I need to add something really dark, maybe the shapes?

As you can tell I’m very undecided. Do you have any thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Colour, colour everywhere!

  1. I think that if you continue to place and remove things as you go, as they feel right, you can never go wrong. I think the circles would be really punchy, and the occasional shisha would really work too. Lastly, don’t be shy about the color. You’ve already crossed the Rubicon. Throw your head back and color on blythely.

    Like

Please share your comments

